Review of The Howling Hag Mystery.

Hetty Monksea
2 min readJul 29, 2021

--

I recently finished this superb mystery by Nicki Thornton, the incredible author of the Seth Seppi books. I’m now sharing my thoughts on it with you.

Cover of The Howling Hag Mystery.

‘The Howling Hag made me do it,’ she whispered.

Raven Charming lives in Twinhills with her family. Her mum’s Golden Rule has always been Deny Everything. But with the arrival of the new boy at school, Mortimer Scratch, and that black cat that seems to be everywhere, Raven is not sure that she can keep that rule. And when incidents start occurring at the school, whispers and rumors fly, and are gradually getting louder. Raven now needs the help of the black cat Nightshade as well as that of Mortimer Scratch, so that they can uncover the mysterious person and stop them, before is uncovered and they will no longer be able to Deny Everything ever again!

I loved this new book by Nicki Thornton, mystery, family secrets, and magic. WHAT’S NOT TO LIKE?! This is a great read for fans of Robin Stevens, Harry Potter, and cat lovers. I liked the fact that Nightshade tells some of the chapters because then you get to hear the story from her point of view, which is interesting. Therefore you get to hear lots more about Nightshade in general and her way of life as a cat. Anyway, I can highly recommend this fabulous and exciting new novel from the author. I’d give it four and a half stars out of five, I think.

Hetty Monksea

--

--

Hetty Monksea

A bookworm and cat/guinea pig lover. Writing a story... Follow me on Twitter/Pinterest/Substack: @ATaleofJourneys